Andrea Pharr began classical studies at age 6 with Rose Levine and won a scholarship to study with Walter Cook at the Conservatory of Kansas City (now the UMKC Conservatory). Since then, she has had a longstanding career entertaining diverse audiences in Kansas City.

Andrea developed her skills in the 1970s/80s by playing and touring with rock, folk, country, and blues bands. When playing six-nights-a-week was a standard, she had a steady gig at the Club Royal in Kansas City, then on the Missouri River Queen, a riverboat line from Kansas City to St. Louis. Andrea entertained at Fitzpatrick’s (now The Majestic Steakhouse) with such noted musicians as Noble Samuels, Eddie Saunders, and Claude “Fiddler” Williams. A solo engagement followed at the Raphael Hotel. She performed October 2007 at the JCCC Jazz Series, at Johnson County Community College in Overland Park, KS.

Andrea now performs a wide variety of ensemble and solo engagements with an emphasis on events for non-profit organizations. As a lifetime member of the Kansas City Federation of Musicians, 50% funding is often available from the union for contracts signed at least 45 days in advance of the engagement.

For booking information, contact:
Andrea Pharr

Andrea Pharr


Don’t Explain

Andrea Pharr’s first CD “Don’t Explain” is a varied offering of piano interpretations using composers as diverse as Michel Legrand, Burt Bacharach, and Billie Holiday. Recorded at Soundtrek Studios in Kansas City, the CD’s 16 selections include jazz renditions of “My Funny Valentine,” “Alfie,” and “Round Midnight” as well as classically inspired versions of “You Must Believe in Spring” and “Try to Remember.” Look for musical surprises, too – “Ashokan Farewell,” “Pancho and Lefty,” and the “Shalom Aleichem Medley.” Andrea’s style is rich in melody and marked by harmonic/rhythmic invention. Her stylistic appeal is memorably showcased on “Don’t Explain.”

This recording is now available for download at no charge.


Or to purchase a CD, contact:
Andrea Pharr

Andrea Pharr - Don't Explain CD


Full Track List

  1. My Funny Valentine
  2. Here’s That Rainy Day
  3. Ashokan Farewell / Try to Remember
  4. Alfie
  5. Don’t Explain
  6. Pancho and Lefty
  7. American Tune / Still Crazy After All These Years
  8. Shalom Aleichem Medley
  9. Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most / You Must Believe in Spring
  10. The Nearness of You
  11. Time Passes Slowly / Pleasures of the Harbor
  12. But Beautiful / You Are Too Beautiful
  13. The Fool on the Hill
  14. Bewitched
  15. A Time for Love
  16. ’Round Midnight